1st Grade Science Animal Classification

I used the following animal characteristics as categories for the kids doing animal classifications.I used the fur, feathers, fins, etc. idea and made it into pockets. Then I put them on a file folder (folded lapbook style). Those categories again are…

Fins

Feathers

Fur

Scales

Skin

We did various activities for each. Amazingly even the THREE year olds were talking about the different animal classifications.

Here’s some ideas by others: I made an “Animal Book” out of construction paper and drew/paste a picture of a habitat for each page:

*a pond
*a forest
*a dessert/outback (I can’t remember right now)
*a beach/ocean
*a farm & country scene
*a sky (for birds or other things that fly)

After reading each story, we looked for images of the animals (someone had put together animal classification cards

LAPBOOK for ANIMAL CLASSIFICATION

Wall Words for Animal Classification

Lesson Plan ideas

Tags: , ,

Leave a comment